Getty Images

2022 Cy Young Award winners Justin Verlander and Sandy Alcantara were recognized for their season at the Baseball Writers Association of America’s dinner on Saturday night. There, the two each won a Cy Young Award, but both featured rather embarrassing spelling mistakes.

Both award plaques that were handed out misspelled the word “valuable” and instead omitted the second A, recognizing the winner as baseball’s “Most Valuable Pitcher”. It is not known how the error occurred or if it will be fixed.

Some of the mistakes may be due to changes in the wording on the Cy Young Award plaque. Previously, the nameplate read “Best Pitcher” before being changed to “Most Valuable”.

Justin Verlander will win his third Cy Young Award in the AL in 2022, joining Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer as an active player with three or more wins. Alcantara, on the other hand, won his NL’s first ever Cy Young Award, and his third and first time as an NL pitcher. Alcantara joins Trevor Bauer and Corbin Burnes in that category.


Source link