Hakeem Olajuwon reacts to the NBA renaming the Defensive Player of the Year award after him.

Earlier this month, the NBA announced it would rename the Defensive Player of the Year award to the Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy in honor of the Hall of Famer and former Houston Rockets center.

On Saturday, Olajuwon spoke about the decision at the Fetitta Center on the University of Houston campus. There, “The Dream” played Central with a win over the University of Florida (UCF) and saw his former college basketball team improve to 14 wins and 1 loss this season. ).

“That’s the crown,” said Olajuwon Mark Berman Fox 26 Houston. “It defined my career. It doesn’t get any higher.”

Olajuwon won back-to-back NBA League Defensive Player of the Year awards in the 1992-93 and 1993-94 seasons, and was named to the All-Defensive First Team five times and the Second Team four times. He leads the league in blocks (3,830), ranks him ninth in steals (2,162), and ranks him 14th in rebounds (13,748).

The University of Houston product was named one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA history in 1996 and the NBA’s 75th Anniversary Team in 2021. November 9, 2002.


NBA renames Defensive Player of the Year award after Hakeem Olajuwon

Nick Wright claims Hakeem Olajuwon is the greatest NBA defender of all time


NBA 75: See former Houston Rockets make historic list

Patrick Ewing Hakeem Olajuwon

Patrick Ewing Hakeem Olajuwon

The story was originally published on Rockets Wire

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *