Jared Walsh hit a swinging bunt. It struck Walsh– which would have enabled David Fletcher to score– however the HP ump said Walsh was outside the path.
Jared Walsh was ruled out for being outdoors of the baseline when Zack Greinkes toss hit him. ONara is far from the only umpire to get some backlash on social media for his decision-making.
Home base umpire argues with Angels supervisor Joe Maddon (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images).
Brendan Loughnane murked Sheymon Moraes for first KO of 2021 season (Video) by Chad Porto.
Home plate umpire Brian ONara owes Joe Maddon and the Los Angeles Angels a great description.
A run was removed the board in the Angels-Astros video game, as ONara declared Los Angeles baserunner Jared Walsh was in the basepaths when he was struck by a tried toss to first base by Houston pitcher Zack Greinke. When taking a look at the replay, it looks as though Walsh was inside the basepath when he was drilled with a Greinke toss.
For the home base umpire to make such a choice is unusual in the very first place, as the ump in the beginning base, Ryan Wills, arguably wouldve had a better look.
Umpires around baseball have made curious calls all season.
ONara is far from the only umpire to get some backlash on social networks for his decision-making. Angel Hernandez, CB Buckner and Joe West are always trending when they call a video game, specifically when choosing balls and strikes. An electronic strike zone is on the horizon for a factor, but even with that, calls like the one which cost the Angels on Friday night will still remain in play.
For some reason, the play was not reviewable, which seems like a simple repair on MLBs part.
When Zack Greinkes toss struck him, Jared Walsh was ruled out for being outdoors of the baseline. This isnt a reviewable play. pic.twitter.com/iKCDRw1xVy.
— Fabian Ardaya (@FabianArdaya) April 24, 2021.
Some early controversy in Houston. Jared Walsh hit a swinging bunt. Zack Greinke fielded it and threw to initially. It struck Walsh– which would have allowed David Fletcher to score– however the HP ump said Walsh was outside the path.
Joe Maddon arguing.
Heres the video: pic.twitter.com/FlHS9Fb9I5.
— Jack Harris (@Jack_A_Harris) April 24, 2021.